MLB all star roster unveiled,25 first timers

The rosters for the 2014 All-Star Game were officially announced during a live broadcast on Sunday night. As a reminder, the starting position players are selected by the fans while the rest of the rosters are voted on by players and selected by All-Star managers John Farrell (Red Sox) and Mike Matheny (Cardinals).

The All-Star rosters run 34 players deep, but only 33 players for each team were announced Sunday. The final spot is up for grabs via the Final Vote fan voting. Any starting pitchers who pitch Sunday, July 13, are not eligible to pitch in the All-Star Game itself, which will be played at Target Field in Minneapolis on Tuesday, July 15. The Home Run Derby will be played the day before, and the Futures Game the day before that.

All 30 teams get at least one representative in the All-Star Game. Keep in mind that injured players will be replaced on the rosters between now and then. Here is an update of the rosters as they are announced:

AL Starters (fan vote)

Matt WietersOrioles
1B Miguel CabreraTigers
2B Robinson CanoMariners
SS Derek JeterYankees
3B Josh DonaldsonAthletics
DH Nelson Cruz, Orioles
OF Jose BautistaBlue Jays (leading vote-getter overall)
OF Mike TroutAngels
OF Adam Jones, Orioles

NL Starters (fan vote)

Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B Paul GoldschmidtDiamondbacks
2B Chase UtleyPhillies
SS Troy TulowitzkiRockies
3B Aramis RamirezBrewers
OF Andrew McCutchenPirates
OF Carlos Gomez, Brewers
OF Yasiel PuigDodgers

AL Pitchers

RHP Yu DarvishRangers
RHP Max Scherzer, Tigers
RHP Felix Hernandez, Mariners
RHP Masahiro Tanaka, Yankees
LHP Jon Lester, Red Sox
LHP David PriceRays
LHP Scott Kazmir, Athletics
LHP Mark Buehrle, Blue Jays
LHP Sean Doolittle, Athletics
RHP Greg HollandRoyals
LHP Glen PerkinsTwins
RHP Dellin Betances, Yankees

NL Pitchers

RHP Johnny CuetoReds
LHP Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
RHP Zack Greinke, Dodgers
LHP Madison BumgarnerGiants
RHP Adam Wainwright, Cardinals
RHP Tyson RossPadres
RHP Jordan ZimmermannNationals
RHP Julio TeheranBraves*
RHP Craig Kimbrel, Braves
LHP Aroldis Chapman, Reds
RHP Francisco Rodriguez, Brewers
LHP Tony Watson, Pirates
RHP Pat Neshek, Cardinals

* Teheran replaces Jeff Samardzija, who was voted into the game but is ineligible to play following his trade from the Cubs to the Athletics.

AL Reserves

Salvador Perez, Royals — will replace Wieters (Tommy John surgery) in the starting lineup
Derek Norris, Athletics
Kurt Suzuki, Twins
1B Jose AbreuWhite Sox
1B Victor Martinez, Tigers
1B Edwin Encarnacion, Blue Jays
1B/OF Brandon Moss, Athletics
2B Jose AltuveAstros
SS Alexei Ramirez, White Sox
3B Adrian Beltre, Rangers
3B Kyle Seager, Mariners**
OF Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics
OF Alex Gordon, Royals
OF Michael BrantleyIndians

**Seager was named as a replacement for the injured Encarnacion

NL Reserves

Jonathan Lucroy, Brewers
Devin Mesoraco, Reds
1B Freddie Freeman, Braves
2B Dee Gordon, Dodgers
2B Daniel MurphyMets
SS Starlin Castro, Cubs
3B Todd Frazier, Reds
3B Matt Carpenter, Cardinals
IF/OF Josh Harrison, Pirates
OF Charlie Blackmon, Rockies
OF Hunter Pence, Giants
OF Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins — will be in starting lineup at DH

Looking to bet on the NFL this season?

Bet on football this season at one of our below reccomended sportsbooks! sportbook.ag has it all!

USA Friendly SportsbookMyBookie - 50% up to $1,000 new player bonus
USA Friendly SportsbookIntertops - 100% up to $1,000 New Player Bonus
USA Friendly SportsbookSportsBetting -75% up to $1,000 new player bonus
USA Friendly SportsbookBetOnline - 50% up to $2,500 new player bonus
USA Friendly SportsbookGTBets - 150% up to $750 new player bonus
USA Friendly SportsbookBookmaker - offering 50% bonus new player bonus
USA Friendly SportsbookBovada$250 Welcome Bonus for new players
USA Friendly SportsbookBetAnySports - offering $200 in FREE PLAY when you join
USA Friendly SportsbookVietBet - 50% up to $1,000 Welcome Bonus (use promo code BOOK50)

Comments are closed.
Return top